FR NL EN DE IT ES

A little bit of history



An invitation
to go back in time...

Welcome to 1896: the Saumur of the Belle Epoque opens its doors to you. Château la Marquise was then the majestic property of Madame Baillou de la Brosse where she lived with her four children.
In 1925, fleeing Alsace then under German domination, it was Mr. Alfred MEYER and his wife who acquired it to settle near the prestigious wine estate "GRATIEN & MEYER".
Property of the family until 2002, the Château has since changed hands and invites its guests to take advantage of its superb quality during high-end hotel stays, nestled in a remarkably wooded park, in the heart of the city.

The building



An architecture
feminine...

The castle, with its Eiffel structure and its tufa stone, imposes its elegance from its front steps topped by a monumental canopy which today gives it its name.
Classically and romantically decorated, its facade abounds with meticulous details: rudented grooves, garlands of draperies and flowers, stone ornaments and masks revealing the moods of its owner: anger, anguish, anxiety, grief, mischief and joy.
On the facade on the park side, there are the cartouches and coats of arms of the Brush and Bouyer families of Saint-Gervais de Monhoudou. A magnificent "Mansard style" roof crowns the chateau with its fish scale slates and fire pots.
Garden side


A wooded park
for box...

Sheltered in a two-hectare English-style wooded park, Château la Marquise offers its visitors a bucolic stroll among its trees that are now hundred years old: plane trees, oaks, beeches, American walnuts, bald cypresses, yews, Judaea.
A true reflection of the fashion of the time, the original landscape design has been perfectly preserved. In its center, a piece of water embellished with rockeries and a romantic bridge is in fact a source of the Loire and the Thouet. Away and out of sight, a heated outdoor swimming pool offers additional moments of relaxation to guests in summer.
BOOK

I BOOK !

Not accessible to people with reduced mobility, contact us for more information about this

© Chateau La Marquise. All rights reserved. Designed by Pixim communication logo

Design and writing: Mr Pencil - Pictures : Christophe Gagneux

FR NL EN DE IT ES

Un peu d'histoire



Une invitation
à remonter le temps...

Bienvenue en 1896 : le Saumur de la Belle Epoque vous ouvre ses portes. Le Château la Marquise est alors la majestueuse propriété de Madame Baillou de la Brosse où elle vit avec ses quatre enfants.
En 1925, fuyant l'Alsace alors sous domination allemande, c’est Monsieur Alfred MEYER et son épouse qui en font l'acquisition pour s'installer près du prestigieux domaine vinicole "GRATIEN & MEYER".
Propriété de la famille jusqu’en 2002, le Château a depuis changé de mains et invite ses hôtes à profiter de sa superbe lors de séjours hôteliers haut de gamme, lové dans un parc remarquablement boisé, en plein cœur de ville.

Le bâtiment



Une architecture
au féminin...

Le château, avec sa structure Eiffel et sa pierre de tuffeau, impose son élégance dès son perron coiffé d’une marquise monumentale qui lui vaut aujourd’hui son nom.
De décoration classique et romantique, sa façade foisonne de détails soignés : cannelures rudentées, guirlandes de draperies et de fleurs, ornements en pierre et mascarons révélant les humeurs de sa propriétaire : colère, angoisse, anxiété, chagrin, malice et joie.
En façade côté parc, on distingue les cartouches et blasons des familles de la Brosse et le Bouyer de Saint-Gervais de Monhoudou. Une magnifique toiture "à la Mansart" couronne le château de ses ardoises en écailles de poissons et de ses pots à feu.
Côté jardin


Un parc boisé
pour écrin...

Abrité dans un parc boisé à l’anglaise de deux hectares, le Château la Marquise offre à ses visiteurs une déambulation bucolique parmi ses arbres aujourd’hui centenaires : platanes, chênes, hêtres, noyers d'Amérique, cyprès chauves, ifs, arbres de Judée.
Véritable reflet de la mode de l’époque, le dessin paysager d’origine a été parfaitement conservé. En son centre, une pièce d'eau agrémenté de rocailles et d’un pont romantique est en fait un boire de la Loire et du Thouet. A l’écart et à l’abri des regards, une piscine extérieure chauffée offre des moments de détente supplémentaires aux hôtes à la belle saison.
RÉSERVER

JE RÉSERVE !

Non accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite, nous contacter pour plus d'informations à ce sujet

© Château La Marquise. Tous droits réservés. Designed by Logo pixim communication

Conception et rédaction : Monsieur Crayon - Photos : Christophe Gagneux